top of page

Types of inflammatory reactions

There are two types of inflammatory reaction:

  • Acute inflammation, which is non-specific, sets in very quickly. The main players are the cells capable of destroying the aggressor. Once the aggression is controlled, the tissue is repaired and the inflammation ends;

  • Chronic inflammation occurs when inflammation is uncontrolled and persists over time. In this case, the defense mechanisms appeal to the immune mechanisms which are more specific. That is, the inflammatory reaction becomes unfavorable and must be controlled with medication.

 

When the inflammation is local, local manifestations can be observed, that is to say at the site of the attack. In this case, the skin is red, hot, painful and swollen. These symptoms are explained by a greater blood flow generated at the site of inflammation due to the dilation of the vessels (under the action of chemical mediators). Pain is caused by pressure exerted on nerve endings.

bottom of page

Types de réactions inflammatoires

On distingue deux types de réaction inflammatoire:

  • L’inflammation aigüe qui est non spécifique est se met en place très rapidement. Les principaux intervenants sont les cellules capables de détruire l’agresseur. Une fois l’agression contrôlée, le tissu est réparé et l’inflammation prend fin ;

  • L’inflammation chronique intervient lorsque l’inflammation n’est pas contrôlée et persiste dans la durée. Dans ce cas, les mécanismes de défense font appel aux mécanismes immunitaires qui sont plus spécifiques. Autrement dit, la réaction inflammatoire devient défavorable et doit être contrôlée par des médicaments.

 

Lorsque l’inflammation est locale, on peut observer des manifestations locales, c’est-à-dire au niveau du site d’agression. Dans ce cas, la peau est rouge, chaude, douloureuse et gonflée. Ces symptômes sont expliqués par un afflux sanguin plus important généré au site d’inflammation à cause de la dilatation des vaisseaux (sous l’action de médiateurs chimiques). La douleur est engendrée par la pression exercée sur les terminaisons nerveuses.