top of page

What's this?

The inflammatory response - the mechanisms of the inflammatory reaction

Inflammation or inflammatory reaction is a reaction of the living and vascularised tissues of the immune system to an external (infection, trauma, burn, allergy, etc.) or internal (cancerous cells) aggression. It is a process that involves vascular and cellular phenomena and the release of several types of mediators including prostaglandins. However, the inflammatory reaction can also be harmful. The use of drugs, particularly anti-inflammatory drugs, is sometimes necessary to treat inflammation.

  • Usually, inflammation is a beneficial process that aims to eliminate the pathogen and repair tissue damage.

  • Sometimes inflammation can be harmful when it is maladaptive or uncontrolled. This is possible by:

    • the aggressiveness of the pathogen

    • his persistence

    • the seat of inflammation

    • abnormalities in the regulation of the inflammatory process

    • a quantitative or qualitative abnormality of the cells involved in inflammation

 

In general, inflammation is manifested by:

  • redness ( erythema corresponding to une  vasodilation  locale);

  • swelling ( edema );

  • a feeling of warmth;

  • pain that seems to pulsate;

  • a possible alteration in the functioning of the organ concerned (eg difficulty in moving (functional impotence) in the case of a joint).

An inflammatory reaction is most often local. It involves several elements that are specific to an activation of the immune system. There is a role for white blood cells, enzymes and chemical mediators.

 

A tissue lesion, following an attack, leads to the mobilization of white blood cells which will produce or promote the production of other molecules which in turn are responsible for the symptoms.

Injury.png

Aggression of cells by infection or injury activates cells which release inflammatory mediators such as histamine, pro-inflammatory cytokines and other active compounds. The functional consequences of this activation are the elimination of the pathogen and/or the repair of the lesion.

In the inflammatory reaction, the fatty acids of the cell membrane are transformed into, among other things, prostaglandins . Biosynthesis is significantly increased in inflamed tissues and this contributes to the development of the cardinal signs of acute inflammation.

bottom of page

C'est quoi?

La réponse inflammatoire - les mécanismes de la réaction inflammatoire

Une inflammation ou réaction inflammatoire est une réaction des tissus vivants et vascularisés du système immunitaire à une agression externe (infectiontraumabrûlureallergie, etc) ou interne (cellules cancéreuses). C'est un processus qui met en œuvre des phénomènes vasculaires, cellulaires et la libération de plusieurs types de médiateurs dont des prostaglandines.

. Cependant, la réaction inflammatoire peut aussi être néfaste Le recours aux médicaments, plus particulièrement aux anti-inflammatoires est parfois nécessaire pour traiter l’inflammation.

  • Habituellement, une inflammation est un processus bénéfique qui a pour but d'éliminer l'agent pathogène et de réparer les lésions tissulaires.

  • Parfois l'inflammation peut être néfaste lorsqu’elle est inadaptée ou incontrôlée. Ceci est possible par:

    • l'agressivité de l'agent pathogène

    • sa persistance

    • le siège de l'inflammation

    • des anomalies des régulations du processus inflammatoire

    • une anomalie quantitative ou qualitative des cellules intervenant dans l'inflammation

 

En général une inflammation se manifeste par:

  • une rougeur (érythème correspondant à une vasodilatation locale) ;

  • un gonflement (œdème) ;

  • une sensation de chaleur ;

  • une douleur qui semble pulser ;

  • une éventuelle altération du fonctionnement de l’organe concerné (ex : difficulté à bouger (impotence fonctionnelle) dans le cas d'une articulation).

Une réaction inflammatoire est le plus souvent locale. Elle implique plusieurs éléments qui sont propre à une activation du système immunitaire. Il y a un rôle pour les globules blancs, des enzymes et des médiateurs chimiques.

 

Une lésion tissulaire, suite à une agression, entraîne la mobilisation des globules blancs qui vont produire ou favoriser la production d’autres molécules qui à leur tour sont responsables pour les symptômes.

inflammation.png

L’agression des cellules par une infection ou une lésion active des cellules qui libèrent des médiateurs de l’inflammation comme l’histamine, des cytokines pro-inflammatoires et d'autres composés actifs. Les conséquences fonctionnelles de cette activation sont l’élimination du pathogène et/ou la réparation de la lésion.

Dans la réaction inflammatoire, les acides gras de la membrane de la cellule sont transformés en entre-autres des prostaglandines. La biosynthèse est significativement augmentée dans les tissus enflammés et ceci contribue au développement des signes cardinaux de l'inflammation aiguë.