top of page

Pain, fever, inflammation: the role of prostaglandins

role of prostaglandins.JPG

Pain, fever and/or inflammation are part of a complex physiological process that develops in the body in response to some kind of aggression. This aggression can be physical, chemical, infectious or be due to disturbances in the body. This process in the body implements several phenomena at the level of vessels, cells and others. This goes hand in hand with a release of certain substances called mediators.

 

These mediators include, among others, prostaglandins.

 

Basically, prostaglandins are produced from phospholipids found in cell membranes. The type of phospholipids in these membranes determines the types of prostaglandins that are produced. Through nutrition (the types of fats one consumes) it is possible to influence the different types of prostaglandins that can be produced. (for more info's see www:fortaline.com).

 

Prostaglandins are substances that the body needs to survive, but when the amounts of these prostaglandins are out of proportion, these same prostaglandins are responsible for pathological conditions.

prostaglandins.JPG

Treatment of fever, pain and inflammation

Schematically, the most common painkillers can be classified into two main categories:

  • Peripheral painkillers (e.g. paracetamol; ibuprofen)

  • Central painkillers (opiates) - of the morphine type and derivatives

 

Peripheral painkillers work by inhibiting the production of prostaglandin, a substance involved in stimulating fever and nerve messages signaling pain

Role of prostaglandins 2.JPG
bottom of page

Douleurs, fièvre, inflammation: le rôle des prostaglandines

prostaglandines.PNG

La douleur, la fièvre et/ou l’inflammation font partie d’un processus physiologique complexe qui se développe dans l’organisme en réponse à une sorte d’agression. Cette agression peut être physique, chimique, infectieuse ou être due à des perturbations dans le corps. Ce processus dans le corps met en œuvre plusieurs phénomènes au niveau des vaisseaux, des cellules et autres. Ceci va de pair avec une libération de certaines substances qu’on appelle de médiateurs.

 

Parmi ces médiateurs, on retrouve entre-autres des prostaglandines.

 

À la base les prostaglandines sont produites à partir des phospholipides qui se trouvent dans les membranes cellulaires. Le type de phospholipides dans ces membranes détermine les types de prostaglandines qui sont produits. À travers la nutrition (les types de graisses qu’on consomme) il est possible d’influencer les différents types de prostaglandines qui peuvent être produits. (pour plus d’info’s voir www:fortaline.com).

 

Les prostaglandines sont des substances dont le corps a besoin pour survivre, mais quand les quantités de ces prostaglandines sont hors proportion, ces mêmes prostaglandines sont responsables pour des états pathologiques.

prostaglandines2.PNG

Le traitement de la fièvre, la douleur et l'inflammation

Schématiquement on peut classer les antidouleurs les plus courants en deux grandes catégories :

  • Les antidouleurs périphériques (exemples paracétamol ; ibuprofène)

  • Les antidouleurs centraux (opiacés) -du type morphine et dérivés

 

Les antidouleurs périphériques agissent en inhibant la production de prostaglandine, une substance participant à la stimulation de la fièvre et des messages nerveux signalant une douleur

prostaglandines3.PNG